Imogen Cunningham Analysis

adc15897b52d4256bf745366b0ddcb9b

Cactus Flower, Imogen Cunningham, 1960.

Imogen Cunningham’s Cactus Flower is one of her many photographic masterpieces. It’s simple: a cactus flower on a pure black background. It’s the simplicity of it that makes it so masterful. It makes me feel calm, and I feel like the artist is trying to tell the reader an exciting story without any words. I believe that this photo is a huge success, for the blacks and whites are deep and bright, and the way she gave an object of nature a set of deeper emotions is certainly beautiful. If I could, I would definitely hang this piece on my wall.

Leave a Reply

